What to do on flare up days?

If you, like me, suffer from a chronic illness you are bound to have a flare up day eventually. These are days when your symptoms flare up and you feel limited to your bed. In many cases, you really can not do much because your body is busy fighting off whatever is going on and this can make you feel like you have ran a marathon when in actuality you have been in bed all day. These days can seem dark, depressing, and endless. For many of us we sit in a dark room, in bed, and watch tv or sleep all day. While that may be okay to do sometimes, eventually that will lead you to a dark place of hopelessness. So I have put together some ideas to make flare up days not so bad.

  1. You have a chronic illness. Your body is fighting off this illness constantly and that will take a tole on your already tired body. Do not push yourself or feel lazy. Take the time you need to rejuvenate and come back strong and ready to kick more chronic illness butt! It’s okay to take time for yourself.
  2. Open the curtains and let the sunshine in. You can still lay down and rest, but letting the sunshine even for a little while will lift your spirits. I promise.
  3. Read your Bible. Even just a chapter can fill you with hope and grace! He almost always leads me to a verse that I needed to hear at that specific time.
  4. Make a to do list. This is something that helps me a lot! I am one of those people who give myself a hard time about laying in bed all day so by giving myself a simple and realistic to do list and accomplishing it, I feel like the day was not totally a waste. So for me this to do list will be as simple as, clean off the nightstands, sepera the laundry, and paint. Simple, but also productive while letting my body rejuvenate itself.
  5. Write! This is also a big one guys! I believe when you are writing to inspire others, you inspire yourself the most! Start a blog, write in a journal, something. Let your creative juices flow. I believe that more people with chronic illness need to spread the word!
  6. Get a pet. This is a big step I know so only follow through with this one if you are going to consistently take care of this animal! Having a pet has been a lifesaver for me and I mean that literally. I have a yorkie named Sophie who has been my best friend for eight years now. When you have a pet you truly connect with, it is a blessing from God! Sophie knows everything I swear. If i am in a good mood, she is running around and playful. If I am having a bad day, she will come over and lay in my lap. If I am having a flare up day, she wants to be lazy and cuddle all day. Having a pet can give you a sense that someone needs you and responsibility which can help you on those days when you feel sick and useless. Many people with chronic illness can have service dogs which are very necessary for some.
  7. Join a support group for your illness. This has help me a lot not only through flare up days, but also finding more information. Behcet’s disease is very rare so many doctors have never heard of it. No doubt, other patients have taught me more than doctors have. These people know your pain and they know the demons that come with flare up days, talk to them!
  8. Invite friends over for an hour or so. Having someone to talk to is important! Do not isolate yourself. This will also give you something to look forward to during the day.
  9. Light candles. It sounds crazy, but cables or wax warmers (anything that puts off a scent really) has helped me. It is something I enjoy and it lifts my spirit when I am feeling uninspired.
  10. Take up a small hobby to do during these days. Coloring, painting, jewelry making, writing to a pin pal, something, anything! Turn these days into something positive!

 

Leave a Reply

