Behçet’s Flare Up 

Today I had a follow up doctor’s appointment with the dermatologist since the biopsy. During the previous appointment she prescribed prednisone to calm down the current flare up I was having. I took it for three weeks and then the week after I had a follow up appointment to see how the medicine worked. While taking prednisone, I was super energetic and cranky. I got a lot done though. Yesterday I had another flare up and this time it came back with a vengeance. I have rashes on my chest, face, back, arms, and legs. I have oral and genital ulcers again and my body feels like I’ve been hit by a truck. This is what Behçet’s looks like. I could only include the few pictures that were G rated, but you can still see the impact this disease has on me. So I went home today with some big decisions to make regarding my treatment. I can take a medicine called Dapzone everyday that has big side effects like anemia or I can try vitamin infusions which don’t have a huge history of successful treatment, and long term treatment can result in hair loss. Decisions, decisions…

Leave a Reply

