Today I was diagnosed..

Over a year ago, I began to notice strange symptoms. I started questioning my own health. I had several doctor’s appointments, but my symptoms were so broad no one seemed to be able to put the pieces together. I have been told everything from herpes to fibromyalgia, and everything in between all with negative test results. I decided I would stay persistent and do my own research. After months of looking into each mysterious symptom, I came across Behcet’s Disease. As soon as I saw those words, I just knew that isΒ what I had. I told nurses and doctors, and all of them told me that disease was much too rare. To fully understand how tiring this process was I ask that you read Health Update and Biopsy Day, located under My Health Journey category.

A week ago, I visited the dermatologist to get a biopsy of an oral ulcer. This test would give me the answers and reassurance I had been looking for. Today I got the call saying that the test showed positive for Behcet’s Disease.Β At first, I felt happy that throughout this process I did not let anyone discourage me or change my thoughts on my own illness. I was also very happy that the tests can stop now. As time goes on, it is starting to hit me that I was just diagnosed with a chronic illness. An illness that for the rest of my life will pop up when I least expect it. Behcet’s is a very rare disease. According to the American Behcet’s Disease Association, it is estimated that 3-5 / 100,000 people have Behcet’s Disease in the United States. However, I am not upset. I understand that God gives us all certain struggles and there must be a reason he gave me this one.

I hope this inspires people not only to listen to their heart, but also to never give up. Trust me, if I can get through the tough situations that have came my way in the past year, you can get through the hardships you are facing right now too. Remember, God has a bigger plan for us than what we can even dream of so these trials are just to shape you into the person He created you to be.

“Always be joyful and never stop praying. Whatever happens, keep thanking God because of Jesus Christ. This is what God wants you to do.” 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Leave a Reply

